As usual- I have far too many projects on the go, but here’s a sneak peak of one that’s currently edged to the top of "the list":

My intention is to try and fit:

  • At least one with a raspberry pi and some for of MAME style emulator and 2 sets of joystick/arcade controllers
  • At least one with a touchscreen running some form of SWP / itbox style pub quiz machine software (monopoly, bullseye, spot the difference etc)
  • Possibly one with a console xbox/playstation as I seem to recall having a fairly successful emulator disc with a ton of games already working without any real work required

Firstly I will be ripping the CRT screen / monitor out of them all, and all/most of the wiring. I have ordered a few different 19" 4:3 flat panel LCD monitors to try fitting, a few different video adapters and a few "arcade style" controllers I hope to be able to re-use. I have only opened one up so far and was pleasantly surprised how accessible everything was:

Also there appears to be a relatively common looking motherboard/hard-drive combination with relatively standard VGA ports etc- so I may even try hooking it up and see if the old thing has any life in it? No idea what operating system/software might be on there (I picked them up as non-working for parts).

There’s a thread on the Raspberry Pi forum I’ve been following: http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=6813 so hopefully it won’t be long before Raspbian has a nice compiled MAME binary and frontend. I have also been playing with some itbox style swp emulators and roms with quite a high level of success (unfortunately they appear to all be for winxp/7):

Who wants to be a millionaire. And:

Spot the difference :)

I eagerly await delivery of my various eBay purchases!

L

