I received a couple of 20′ poles last week so thought i’d have another go at getting the dishes hooked up… I didn’t make any progress using "guess work" so decided I need to find a better way!

Getting on the roof the other end is going to be a bit tricky so I started at this end. Here’s a picture I took with my iPhone (remarkably good quality):

Zoomed to 100% of where I think I’m aiming:

I wanted to get a bit closer- so took this with my Canon 5D Mark II & Canon 70-200mm f2.8L IS @ 200mm @ 100%:

This is from google maps (you can see the other side of the two houses in the shot above- notice how close to the destination marker A they are):

Google maps again (this is looking roughly at the angle between the houses- it looks like I might just about miss the tree on the right hand side):

I’ve ordered a few cheap laser (lazer?) pointers from eBay which I hope to strap to the dishes for some further testing next week…

Watch this space!

L

