Unfortunately I’ve been very busy with work so little time for blogging. Just a few little bits:

Problem Steps Recorder

A colleague told me about this recently. A new tool available in Windows 7 designed to record steps to recreate problems- you can then send the output to support desks etc who can analyse the output.

You can access PSR (Problem Steps Recorder) by typing psr into the start menu and clicking the top result (highlighted above).

The tool is very straight forward- I’ve only used it a few times to date, but essentially it records screenshots and describes each "action"- for example clicking, dragging, user input etc. The output file is then a zipped, self-contained html type structure. See example: http://tickett.net/downloads/ip_address.zip (I have to admit I’m a little puzzled as I recorded the steps to launch a command prompt and run ipconfig to determine your ipaddress but the keyboard input doesn’t appear to’ve been captured- I think I need to play a bit more).

The beauty of the tool is that it could quite easily be used to simplify the process of creating documentation and user guides as well as the intended purpose of recording problem steps (currently we often create documentation but taking numerous screenshots and manually pasting into word with annotations- this automates that process somewhat).

Lock Screen in OS X

I did a google a while back as I’ve started to use my laptop in the office a lot more and never like leaving the screen unlocked. In windows I’m sure we all know ctrl-alt-del allows us to lock the workstation, but I’d yet to find an option/keyboard shortcut in OS X. My search didn’t turn up much- and the first item I tried didn’t work at all.

The next day a colleague showed me the "hot corners" option available in the system preferences under displays / screen savers. This works pretty well but my ideal solution would be a keyboard shortcut.

I resorted to trusty stackexchange and was informed that shift-ctrl-eject which actually puts the display to sleep but effectively achieves the desired result of locking the screen (as once awoken the password is requiring to resume).

Ubiquiti AirVision / AirCam Update

I have finished permanent installation of my 3rd Ubiquiti AirCam but have been experiencing increasing problems with the AirVision and NVR software.

For example the above screenshot- you can see the Back Garden feed is blank. These increasingly problems in addition to the rather cpu/memory hungry windows processes spurred me on to give the linux software a go.

I diverted a little from the linux installation guide on the forum: http://forum.ubnt.com/showthread.php?t=44098

Here are my steps:

  • Install Ubuntu server edition checking only the OpenSSH option
  • SSH into the ubuntu server and escalate to root: sudo su
  • Modify the apt-get sources file: nano /etc/apt-get/sources.list
  • Add at bottom of file: deb-src http://extras.ubuntu.com/ubuntu natty main
  • Add at bottom of file: deb http://www.ubnt.com/downloads/airvision/apt natty ubiquiti
  • Quit and save changes: ctrl-x
  • Update apt-get: apt-get update
  • Install AirVision and all dependencies: apt-get install airvision
  • Install AirVision NVR and all dependencies: apt-get install airvision-nvr
  • Ensure everything is up to date: apt-get upgrade

You should now be good to go! Try an browse to https://server-ip-or-hostname:7443 and you should be presented with the configuration/setup wizard.

NB: HTTPS. I made the mistake of trying to browse to http://server-ip:7443 and wondered why it wasn’t working :)

So far performance seems better and resource usage seems a little lighter. Fingers crossed.

L

