I had a few minutes to continue setting up the wireless link and take a few snaps. Here’s the dish mounted:

And a bit of a close-up:

I found a better way of determining the bearing between the two properties using google earth (I had previously used googlecompass: https://tickett.wordpress.com/2012/02/15/setting-up-getting-started-with-ubiquiti-nanobridge-m5/):

Unfortunately I don’t really have any way of determining the dish’s current bearing (other than a visual guestimate). Google earth also shows the elevation profile:

Which seems to pretty much agree with the AirLink tool. Admittedly when I first used it I didn’t really know what I was looking at in the graph:

It surprises me the bearing isn’t displayed anywhere (that I can see?). I think I’m going to need a slightly longer pole to mount both the dishes giving sufficient clearance above the houses/trees in the path. I wonder what length I can get away with- the current pole is about 2 metres long and waves about quite a bit in the wind. I guess I just need something a little sturdier.

More soon :)

L

