It’d been on back-order for some time but finally over the Christmas break arrived in the post :)

I wired soldered the few parts and tried a few of sample sketches in the Arduino IDE but nothing… I gave up as some other jobs had to take priority.

A few weeks later some discussions kicks off over on the Jeelabs forum: http://forum.jeelabs.net/node/764 and Ed Voncken pointed out a few discrepancies in the documentation and provided some tips on building and testing the board on his blog: http://edvoncken.net/2011/12/assembling-the-jeelabs-ook433-plug-part-1/

My big faux-pas was not soldering the jumper R1 (no resistor is required). I also opted for soldering the bridge between P and the middle pad rather than + (as it looks like the 433 Mhz receiver board is marked up for the + 5V which are provided via PWR as opposed to the + which only provided 3.3V).

Now I fired up the ookScope2 sketch, fixed the pin mappings (OOK_PIN = 16 and OOK_POWER = 12) uploaded to the device and launched the serial monitor:

Woah, that’s a lot of data… but quite expected as I have 9 currentcost devices transmitting, 2 oregon scientific devices and probably some other stuff I’ve forgotten about.

I retried the ookDecoder sketch now that I know some real rf data is acknowledged- and to my amazement there was some sensible output:

[ookDecoder]
546892
HEZ BAAAAAA700
1055900
HEZ BA8AAA8F02
1057592
HEZ BEBA1200800700

Apparently these are home easy transmissions- though I don’t have any home easy or compatible devices in the house (that I’m aware of)- so my only guess is that they belong to my neighbours!

I need to do some more research into whether the currentcost protocol can be decoded and find a working sketch for my oregon devices then start to consider purchasing some remote mains sockets.

L

