I blogged previously about replacing one of my switches with something a little smaller, quieter, lighter and greener: https://tickett.wordpress.com/2011/12/29/a-few-small-updates/ this was all part of a pretty big rewiring of the network and relocation of the A/V equipment.

All of the devices were in a cabinet in the corner of the living room:

But now I wanted to add the new switch and relocate into the utility room adjacent:

And re-run the wires a little differently (I’d previously used existing holes to get upstairs):

I’ve already pulled most of the equipment out of the cabinet and the cables just keep on coming:

The previous excess cable "neatly" spooled behind the cabinet:

Some hours later- a little progress:

Now upstairs. You can see the grey "conduit" I ran alongside the copper pipes with the existing cables:

Here’s the new hole in the ceiling:

And in the floor to allow cables to be pulled without lifting the floor:

Now the carpet’s back down and the cupboards are back in place:

First few lengths of Cat5e pulled through for 2 connections in the master bedroom:

Back downstairs, lots of velcro to tidy things up:

The comms cab starting to take shape (still a mess but I’ve still got a lot to do):

L

