*Update* I removed StableBit DrivePool beta after realising how much it was degrading performance (this is expected behaviour as it is still an early beta). Today DataCore have announced the beta of their Drive Extender replacement Drive Harmony: http://www.mswhs.com/2011/05/datacore-de-replacement-beta-announced-at-tech-ed-2011/?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+MSWHS+%28MS+Windows+Home+Server%29&utm_content=Twitter

I tried the WHS 2011 install again today and this time it succeeded (I only did two things differently: 1. entered the product key during installation & 2. left the default US locale/keyboard layout)

I started to configure my drives as described in my earlier post: https://tickett.wordpress.com/2011/05/07/windows-home-server-2011-released/ but realised you can only setup mirroring on a per disk basis (unless I’ve missed something?). So instead I’ve decided to try the StableBit DrivePool BETA which adds the old WHS v1 DriveExtender functionality. I currently have 4x 1.5TB disks in a single pool.

So far, so good- just transferring all the data from my old fileserver. I’m also in the process of trying to setup the server to work with Time Machine on my Mac.

Will try and keep you posted.

L

